Rees Jones to Receive Donald Ross Award from ASGCA

ASGCA Past President Rees Jones has been selected by the American Society of Golf Course Architects as the 2013 Donald Ross Award recipient. The award will be presented April 22, 2013 during the 67th ASGCA Annual Meeting in Reynolds Plantation, Ga. The award is named for ASGCA’s honorary first president, and is presented to an individual who has made a positive contribution to golf and golf course architecture.

Jones, noted for his redesign of courses in preparation for major championships, has applied his remodeling skills to seven U.S. Open venues, seven PGA Championship courses, four Ryder Cup, two Walker Cup sites, and a President’s Cup site.  Several of his redesigned courses have been selected as FedEx Championship sites including East Lake Golf Club, the permanent site of the PGA TOUR’s Tour Championship.

He earned a B.A. from Yale University and studied landscape architecture at Harvard University. He began his career in golf course architecture in 1965, working for 10 years under his father, Robert Trent Jones, the first Ross Award recipient in 1976. He opened Rees Jones, Inc. in 1974 in Montclair, N.J., and has led the firm ever since.

Jones has designed or redesigned more than 170 courses worldwide, including courses in China, Japan, Canada, Mexico, England, Spain and Africa. A few of his many new designs include: Atlantic Golf Club, Bridgehampton, N.Y.; Nantucket Golf Club, Siasconset, Mass.; and Ocean Forest Golf Club, Sea Island, Ga.

Jones has also served on the United States Golf Association’s Environmental Research, Turfgrass Research, and Green Section Committees; New Jersey State Golf Association’s Executive Committee; the Metropolitan Golf Association’s Executive Committee and Long Range Planning Committee as well as the Board of Directors for the Metropolitan Golf Association Foundation.

Jones has been recognized many times for his contributions to the game. His awards include the 1998 Metropolitan Golf Association Distinguished Service Award, the 2002 Metropolitan Golf Writers Distinguished Service Award, Golf World Magazine’s 1995 Golf Architect of the Year, the 2004 Golf Course Superintendents Association of America’s Old Tom Morris Award and two architectural awards from the International Network of Golf.  In 2012, Rees was inducted into the New Jersey Sports Writers Association Hall of Fame. The Foundation for Long Island State Parks and the New York State Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation honored Rees with the Robert Moses Master Builder Award in 2012.

The Donald Ross Award was established by the ASGCA Board of Governors in 1976. ASGCA’s Donald Ross Award Committee is led by Steve Smyers, ASGCA.

Past Donald Ross Award Recipients
2012      Bill Kubly, golf course builder
2011      James Dodson, golf writer/editor
2010      Tim Finchem, PGA Tour Commissioner
2009      Ron Dodson, sustainable golf advocate
2008      George Peper, golf writer
2007      Dr. Michael Hurdzan, ASGCA, golf course architect
2006      Jim Awtrey, chief executive officer, PGA of America
2005      John Singleton, irrigation pioneer
2004      Thomas Cousins, philanthropist, urban golf developer
2003      Bill Campbell, president, USGA, captain, Royal & Ancient Golf Club
2002      Byron Nelson, professional golfer
2001      Jack Nicklaus, ASGCA, professional golfer, golf course architect
2000      Jaime Ortiz-Patino, owner and president, Valderrama Golf Club
1999      Arnold Palmer, professional golfer
1998      Judy Bell, president, USGA
1997      Gene Sarazen, professional golfer
1996      Ron Whitten, golf writer
1995      Pete Dye, ASGCA, golf course architect
1994      James R. Watson, agronomist
1993      Brent Wadsworth, golf course builder
1992      Paul Fullmer, ASGCA executive secretary
1991      Michael Bonallack, secretary, Royal & Ancient (St. Andrew’s)
1990      John Zoller, executive director, Northern California Golf Association
1989      Dick Taylor, editor, “Golf World” magazine
1988      Frank Hannigan, executive director, USGA
1987      Charles Price, “Golf World” magazine
1986      Deane Beman, commissioner, PGA Tour
1985      Peter Dobereiner, “London Observer” columnist, author
1984      Dinah Shore, sponsor of women’s golf tournaments
1983      Al Radko, director, USGA Green Section
1982      Geoffrey Cornish, ASGCA, golf course architect, historian
1981      James Rhodes, governor of Ohio
1980      Gerald Micklem, captain, Royal & Ancient
1979      Joe Dey, executive director, USGA
1978      Herb and Joe Graffis, founders, National Golf Foundation
1977      Herbert Warren Wind, “The New Yorker” columnist, author
1976      Robert Trent Jones, ASGCA, ASGCA founding member

Leave a Reply

  • (will not be published)